THE STORY OF The Royal Oak

Dating back to 1756 and situated in the St Giles district of the city, The Royal Oak was originally built as a forge by local wheelwright, John Morris, who rented the land from St John’s College. An ancient oak tree that stands on the site undoubtedly lent the pub its name.

Housed in a Grade II listed building, The Royal Oak boasts original exposed beams and brickwork, traditional wood panelling, and plush furnishings, stylishly blending sumptuous period features with contemporary touches and creating many a cosy corner. As well as being dog-friendly and keeping a delightful open fire roaring during those chillier months, there’s an inviting beer garden – perfect for lazy afternoons, al-fresco dining or just a glass of something special on a sunny afternoon.

Just a 20 minute stroll from Oxford station and with frequent bus links to the city, The Royal Oak’s location on the Woodstock Road makes it a landmark pub and an ideal spot for relaxation and refreshment after a day visiting the city’s prestigious universities, peaceful waterways or other historic attractions such as the Ashmolean Museum.

Fostering a relaxed village atmosphere, The Royal Oak holds the authenticity of a true British local close to its heart.